Article Image Alt Text

Falls County TRTA Unit members: (l to r) Mary Strickland, Annie McGruder, Elizabeth Richardson, Ernestine Warren (seated) and District 12 TRTA President Shirley Boyd.

Falls County Retired Teachers Association attends District 12 Spring Conference

Members of the Falls County Texas Retired Teachers Association attended the District XII Spring Conference, May 7 in Waco, Shirley Boyd District President presiding. Statewide statistics indicate there are over 50,000 TRTA members. Various monetary incentives are offered for increase in Unit memberships. Falls County has over 302 retirees who receive TRS benefits. It is important to remember Association membership is not limited to teachers only.

Danny Hefner, TRTA State Legislative chair, spoke on the “13th” check pending and encouraged members to contact their Senators. As he stated, “Teacher Retirement System (TRS) is getting the attention it needs and deserves, and it’s the result of TRTA members and friends in the education community stepping up to raise awareness”. Members participated in Leadership Training sessions. During the Recognition of Leadership Service presentations, the Falls County Unit was the recipient of the Eddy Award of Acknowledgement for Retirement Education. Falls County Texas Retired Teachers Association will continue to meet at 11:30 A.M., every second Thursday, (September through May) at The Chicken Place. For more information, call (979) 739-0219.


To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

The Rosebud News

211 Fortune St.
P.O. Box 112
Marlin, TX 76661
Phone: 254-883-2554
Fax: 254-883-6553